I quit.

I can't do it all by myself!

Just so you know, two days in, I quit that whole NaNoWriMo nonsense.

Turns out, one-year-olds require constant supervision; three-year-olds don’t know how to make their own dinner (or lunch, or breakfast, or snacks, or get themselves ready for school, or get themselves ready for anything at all really); and husbands prefer it when their wives look away from the computer screen once in a while and say more than, “Yep. Yep. and, Uh-huh,” in at least one conversation a day.

Oh Well. ‘Twas fun while it lasted.

No-No-Wri-No-Mo,

Alaskarella (former-child-neglector wondering if a family of laptops would be more understanding of her hopes and dreams).

But laptop kids wouldn't be so cute.

You know what my friend Al E. would say about this? “The only reason for time is so that everything doesn’t happen at once.”

And then he’d probably say, “And please, call me Albert Einstein, not Al E.”

10 responses to “I quit.

  1. Aaaah. That’s too bad! You got me to do it (I’d already been thinking of it, but still). I went gangbusters the first day (3,000 words) but then yesterday fixed some discrepancies I saw and added only 500. But if the goal is 50,000 words, I think I’m still on track.

    Love your blog!

  2. Fender Strato

    Maybe the saddest face I’ve ever seen. Thank goodness you followed it up with that cheery little smile. May everyone’s day be better – or as Mark likes to say,
    “may the best day of your life be your worst day forward.”

  3. Hi Katie, Chalk it up to one of those things that sounded like a good idea at the time. Nothing compares to the challenge of being a mother of two little kids and nothing is more rewarding!

    • thanks Ronnie. I think this is one of those things that you really “get” if you’ve been there. I know you’ve been there doing the little kid thing, I was one of them! Thanks for taking care of my needy teeny self then – and now. 🙂

  4. Zoey will be sharing this picture and post to her psychiatrist in her adult life. I’m just sayin’ . . . . .

  5. Christina Callender

    Ah, shucks! I logged on to your blog planning to comment on this whole write a novel in a month thing, how we talked about it in my class last week, and how I thought it was SO COOL that you were actually going to do it (and the perfect candidate!) but I see I am too late …. guess I should have encouraged you earlier??? Ah, no I can only imagine how difficult it would be with two little ones — I don’t blame you. It’s impressive enough that you keep up with your blog so frequently and keep us all entertained.. plus you are instantly rewarded for your efforts rather than having to wait til your novel gets published.. and there’s always next year… so alas despite the fact that the novel has been put on hold and my encouragement no longer necessary.. still wanted to drop you a line, let you know how much I like your blog, and let you know that we are all thinking of you guys and rooting for you! Big Hug from Hawaii! –Christina & Anna

    • Hi Christina! How is the HI Life?!! Oh, girl. I miss it. What class talked Nanowrimo? I’m just chalking it up to someday … some way … maybe you’ll do it with me then? Thanks for the cheers from the island. Big Hugs back to you and your island crew.

  6. Pingback: Secret Lover. | ALASKARELLA