The Finish Line.

Shhh, Lucy, I'll feed you next week. Just like 12,000 more words honey. Watch out for the live wires, kay?

The Finish Line! I did it! 50 thousand words (all very loosely tied to a story idea)

I DID IT!  I wrote a “novel”!  Hot-Diggity-DOG! (That’s what it’s called by the way, “Hotdog.”)

It is just plain terrible.  If it got out I’d be institutionalized.  At best, it would cause the reader to vomit.   The end product is alarming.

BUT, the exercise of creating it  – exhilarating!  I can’t decide if I’ll take the revision / rewrite / tweak, tweak / power hose route on this baby to see if “Hotdog” really could be a real book  … or if I’ll wait until next November to start the insanity all over again with a completely new idea.

Either way, who cares!  I had so much fun.

Fist Pumps,

A “writer” you know.

PS – No, you can not read it.  I would not wish that on even the person who told me that I would like Alaska better than Hawaii (ah, hem. I do not.).

What did you win? Dorkiest dweeb on the planet? Congratulations.

14 responses to “The Finish Line.

  1. Yahoo! Congratulations. Good for you. What an accomplishment. I’m planning on reading your novel after it’s been published. I’ve only heard rumors about the topic. Good job young lady.

  2. Betty Domanski

    Sweetie, that is AWESOME!!! So proud of you, amazing lady you!!! I love it, I will feed you later Lucy hehe 🙂 Glad you had a nice Thanksgiving too babe, we did low key as well this year with the Millers. Miss you guys!!!

  3. YAY you!!!

  4. GIRLY!! I knew you could do it! Looking at this pic reminds me why I j’adore you!

  5. Jackson Browne

    What did you do while living in Alaska? Oh, I raised two young girls, negotiated drives on icy roads, saw the Northern Lights, wished I had a warmer parka and…WROTE A FRICKIN’ NOVEL!!!
    Kudos, Props, High 5s, and all that jazz! Add that little tidbit to your resume.
    Perhaps, now, U of A @Fairbanks may want to hire a guest speaker. Author! Author!
    Way to Go! There are many with brains and talent but so few with persistence.
    You’ve got all three! I’m so proud of you.

  6. …absolutely so proud of you, amazing d-i-l katie. please email me…i am dying to know the theme of “Hot Dot”. and i would be an excellent proof-reader…

  7. This is AWESOME! You are amazing and inspirational and even though far away, still the coolest “author” I know! Congrats!

  8. I vote for #101 on the notable books list for 2010!

  9. Congratulations! Phew… now you can check that off the bucket list! Can’t wait to see what’s up for next month 🙂

  10. Congratulations Alaskarella! When you’re famous – I’ll be able to say…Y’know, I totally exchanged blog comments with her! Congrats again – This is a great accomplishment.

  11. Thanks, thanks, thanks! I appreciate that, like me, you are up for celebrating the fact that I’ve gotten really good at writing really bad! Cheers!

  12. Alaskarella — Congratulations! I relish reading this post. I am sure HotDog is a true weiner. You mustard the strength/passion and perservered. Not sure if it is Kosher to ask, but do 50,000 words measure to be a foot long? And I hate to be cheesy, but thanks for these posts — it is such a great way to ketchup. (channeling grandma dear on this reply — yep, a total corn dog!) Hugs to you and the chips.

    P.S. You’ve got great buns!

  13. If this is what I think it is I’m sure it will be fantastic! I really wanted to write a book called “My Year As A Wiener Rider” (I always loved the terms the news media coined), but alas, I am not a writer. Good luck!

  14. Pingback: Lucy’s been Liberated. | ALASKARELLA