Transitions Suck. (And they’re ugly).


Mama de la Nature, the queen of the earth, the one who literally makes the world turn ... even She is a total mess when in transition.

Streets that at one time were famed to be lined with gold, and then with snow, are now just lined with endless filth.

Cars are dirty, pants are dirty, shoes are dirty, floors are filthy.

At night it freezes, and then in the day it goes back to melting, making for ice and sludge pot holes everywhere.   The parking lots are like off-road obstacle courses.

Not only is it ugly, it’s dangerous.  I dropped Zoey off at school, and her teacher had an ice pack on one kid’s neck and another kid was proud to show me the bruise on his cheek.  Did I mention my mom’s spring break trip to Fairbanks included a sprained ankle?  Car’s are in ditches, this morning I saw one take out a stop sign.   I said to Zoey’s teacher, “What is going on here?”  She shrugged and said, “It’s break up.”

It ain’t  no Disneyland.

Thinking back to last spring in Hawaii,

I smiled remembering or pet, "Tiger."

See our little guy in chrysalis hanging from the underside of the mason jar lid? Did you know that while it's in the midst of it's chrysitlis stage, a caterpillar is a complete scramble of goo resembling neither a catapillar, nor a butterfly?

"And just when Tiger thought the world was over, she turned into a butterfly."

A complete scramble of goo.  Mired in the muck of transition. That’s where I am. That’s where I am in the world.  That’s where I am in life. That’s where I am.

And, I'm looking forward to seeing what's to come of it.

In the meantime, yes, I’m feeling like a klutz, on uneven ground, making a mess of everything, and in a general state of not pretty.

But I know this: I’m in good company.  Even mother nature’s transitions aren’t pretty.  Neither are Tiger’s.

But the promise of what’s to come?  That’s beautiful.

Bless this mess,

Alaskarella

P.S.

Once her wings were dry, she spread her wings, and flew.

7 responses to “Transitions Suck. (And they’re ugly).

  1. I do enjoy the twist you’ve put into seasons and your writing. Nice visuals too, love the parking lot or what ever that is. Of course the butterfly series is a winner! You make me smile

  2. The only sure thing about life is that nothing…..nothing….stays the same! But every step puts us on a new journey – they aren’t always fun and sometimes, just downright heartwrenching….but Katie girl…..then those fairy wings open and it’s just amazing! You’re right where you were supposed to be – right where a new flight begins…..so just hang on to all the wonder you have seen and know that even more is ahead!!!

  3. Marge McLaughlin

    Just remember Jesus loves you and so do we.

  4. Gratzi! Alaskarella readers are like my support group! Thanks for the love.

  5. Monica "mooo" tee hee

    You are a beautiful wise one while in a pile of goo. I take your wisdom as stuch strength! Thanks for reminding us, even in the toughest moments, to see ahead to the beauty that is to come. You are a beauty!

  6. I love this post! I am going through a big transition as well ( graduating university, and possible moving out of the city), it can be very messy… just like the change of seasons.