Back to LIFE!

Yesterday: Bare Naked Ladies. (or trees if that's what you like to call them).

Today: Spring has sprung! The ladies are lookin' good and gettin' better by the hour!

I think it’s the 24 hours of light that makes an arctic spring somewhat of a time lapse photography experience in real life.  And,  after the longest winter of my life, I welcome the light and the life back to mine!

In this arctic experience, at various times, and sometimes all at once, I have gone without.  Sometimes for days, weeks, or even months at a time I’ve gone without:

– The sun.

– Degrees of warmth.

– The ability to comfortably or even semi-comfortably go outside.

– Family.  For months, upon months, upon months, upon months ….  I have never been so far away from my family for so long.

– Friends.  I miss you so much.

– Play groups. We miss you so much.

– A job.  (This, up until this year, has always been a real source of identity and given me a sense of purpose in my life).

– Money from said job.

– Television.  At first for months, and then a few weeks, and sometimes it just goes out for or a few days here and there.

– Internet service for weeks at a time.

– Fashion.  Stores. Shopping. (No Target. No mall.  Certainly not an Anthropologie.)

– Things to do with kids.  ie: zoo, children’s museums, parks, playgrounds, aquariums, ponds to feed ducks, cruising Target …

– My wits.

You know what I’ve  learned (so far) during this deprivation diet?

– Like the birch trees,  I’ve never been without support.

– Like the bare birch trees, all my missing leafs and then some will all come back again someday!

–  Like the bare birch trees, I am stronger than I ever imagined.

I’m still standing.

I’m still standing!

Ya, Ya, Ya!

Am I a birch tree?

Ya! Ya! Yaella

*It is only with this knowledge, and because of this knowledge, you know, knowing that I may actually be a birch tree, that I know that as The Oprah Show draws to a close, I might be ok.  Maybe.

11 responses to “Back to LIFE!

  1. So nice to have Alaskarella back in my radar. You were missed. May your renewed strength and determination discover much happiness.

  2. What a lovely post Springarella! I sure do miss having you within reach, but I’m so glad to see you back in the cyber world! I’ll skype and walk through Target with you if you want =)

  3. Maureen Clarke

    I think you are a might oak! I miss you and can’t wait to see you this summer!
    Love,
    Maureen

  4. Welcome back!

  5. Katie, Yippee. You’re back. I’m so sorry that it all seems like such a struggle for you up there. I’m going to get philosophical now….It’s true that you need to focus on the good things, because you have many things to appreciate. I know very few people who have as many family members who love them as you have. Even if they’re far away, they’re there…It is such a gift. Continue to make the most of it. Remember, it’ll all make a great book someday.

    • Thanks Ronnie! You are so right. I am so blessed by so many things, most of all, “all those who love me” (and I love right back!). Including you! Thanks for your constant support and your blessed perspective. It means a lot to me.

  6. Glad you’re back! And, I hope to see you this summer!