Mama Got a Brand New JOB!

My dream job and idol, Tal Ben Shar teaching positive psychology at Harvard. I got to take his class a few years ago via Harvard Extention School .. and now ..

Yahhoooo!  I’m going to teach the class!  Only, not at Harvard.

After a two year ” mombatical”, I am SO excited to return to the classroom next Fall! I’ll be teaching positive psychology at the community college; on the military campus; and perhaps at the University too (all through University of Alaska Fairbanks .. aka UAF).

I could not be HAPPIER, I get to teach about the science of … happiness!

You know what spurred me to just get it together, draw up the course, and put it out on the offer table?

Oprah.  That’s who.  Her finale rocked my world.  She said a lot of brilliantly inspiring things, among them, “we are all called. Everybody has a calling, and your real job in life is to figure out what that is and get about the business of doing it.”

So, I stayed up all night getting about the business of doing it!  I drafted my positive psychology syllabus, course rationale, and updated my C.V.   The next day, I sent it to the dean.

Within a few hours I got an email back that said, “This sounds fantastic.  Let’s do it.  We need to meet to talk about the paperwork that needs to be put through, but it’s a go.”

It’s a go!

Alaskarella
Positive Psychology Educator, U.A.F. 🙂
That’s  “F” as in Fairbanks, and “A” as in Alaska … maybe this place isn’t so bad after all.

18 responses to “Mama Got a Brand New JOB!

  1. Happy go Lucky!

    beatitude, blessedness, bliss, cheer, cheerfulness, cheeriness, content, contentment, delectation, delight, delirium, ecstasy, elation, enchantment, enjoyment, euphoria, exhilaration, exuberance, felicity, gaiety, geniality, gladness, glee, good cheer, good humor, good spirits, hilarity, hopefulness, joviality, joy, jubilation, laughter, lightheartedness, merriment, mirth, optimism, paradise, peace of mind, playfulness, pleasure, prosperity, rejoicing, sanctity, seventh heaven, vivacity, well-being —

    all synonyms of happiness. Here’s to your happy future! Here’s to your cheery disposition. Here’s to your sunny outlook on 30 below weather. Here’s to you. I will pop a cold one (gluten free) and toast you tonight. xoxo, your proud auntie

  2. So proud of you GIddy! So so so proud of you! You’re on your way and my hero!! All my love,
    PW

  3. mama clarke

    I am so proud of you! Way to go girl! Did I say hooray to you! That is just awesome! I am happy! Oprah is also so proud too.

  4. Wow Katie. When you set your mind to something it comes to life! I am so impressed. Sounds like this will fill in the missing piece of your life and seems so perfect for you. Can’t wait to hear more and this unfolds. Yippee!!!

  5. Someone’s back where she’s suppose to be! Right on, Bokarone. Your classroom will be your stage, your students – your audience, and you will be groovin’ like a DECA Teacher Gone Wild! Way to shape your environment to meet your needs. Sounds like a win-win and that’s a very pleasant noise. Send me the dean’s name and address and I’ll send him a bottle of Jack.

  6. The girls will go to pretty school and you will teach happy school…sounds like perfection to me! Congrats!

  7. Dandiegorado

    Great news!!!! Well done!!!! Very exiting stuff Professorella … A huge congrats!!!

  8. mijotwinlove

    This is awesome news Katie! You are going to be a brilliant prof & all your students will be lucky to have you! Wow! This is amazing!! Congrats!

  9. Maureen Clarke

    You are positively brilliant! I am so very happy for you and all of your furture students! Cheers!
    Love,
    Momo

  10. congrats, Professor! 😉

  11. Awesome! And you continue to inspire.

  12. Read this blog post “outloud” to Jack on the way home from Virginia. We are both so proud of you and delighted that as the next dark time in AK approaches, you will be in your element & glowing.

  13. Thank you one and all for your support. I think day 1 of Happy Class will be about how happy having a cheerleading squad can make a person. Truly, I’m over the moon. Thanks for being there with me!

  14. How wonderful! I am SO excited for you!

  15. Congratulations!!!! What amazing news not to mention how amazing you are! To write your own syllabus, course rationale- too awesome. Nicely done and I’m looking forward to hearing all about it! You deserve it 🙂

    Lots of love,
    Maleia

  16. I’m so happy for you! The students of UAF are pretty darn lucky!

  17. Now you can read Flourish . . . in Fairbanks!

  18. Thanks to all. But no thanks to the Army! This job ended up a no-go as Mitch’s orders to-go to Iraq led to our Fall Semester HQ being far, far away from University of Alaska Fairbanks! Oh well. Flourish was a great read! And, now we’re back and maybe I’ll try again! Thanks for the encouragement to my support group! You make me happy.