Goldie Logs FOR RENT August 2011 – March 2012

Anyone, or anyone know anyone, looking for a Fairbanks home between August 1, 2011 and March 2012?

"Goldie Logs," Our 791 Goldfinch Road, beautiful log cabin is nestled into 5 acres of birch forest (backs up to miles of cc ski trails) in the hills on the University side of town. Because she's my most favorite thing about Fairbanks, I'd love to return to her in March of 2012 ... so we're looking for someone to sublease her while we're away.

Main living room with Cathedrial Ceilings and Wall of Windows into the forest. Perfect for taking in Autumn's late morning sunrises, and winter's Northern Lights.

Super efficient wood stove pumps out endless heat and cozy ambiance.

Open Kitchen (Midnight snacker not included).

Kitchen features stainless steel appliances, silent and awesome dishwasher, plenty of cabinet and counter space. (Personal Chef not included.)

Entry area / stairway. The floors throughout the house are beautiful, AND they're heated! (Happy feet!).

Up the stairs, double french doors lead to the master suite.

With a window perfectly situated for Northern Lights viewing (We often went to bed with feet facing the window so we could fall asleep to the green glows dancing across night sky).

Master Bathroom features stand up shower and a ...

Jacuzzi Tub.

The master walk-in closet is HUGE. So big that ...

We turned it into a bedroom. That's a queen sized bed, and we'll get it out of your way and put the shelves and rods back up for you. And of course the book shelves will also be re-assigned as you see fit.

This is the view from the bed, it's interesting how the view and morning light evolves through the arctic light seasons ... my personal favorite is October when it's possible to sleep in until 9/10 and wake up to a lingering gorgeous orange and fushia sunrise filling and spilling through the windows. On the right you can see it leads to the open loft area.

The open loft area is perfect for reading, or, in this case, watching shooting stars at four in the afternoon on a LOOONG January day (or do you call 4pm night when it is dark outside?).

Back down the stairs, this is the hallway that leads to the mainfloor Bathroom (with a bath/shower), the two main floor bedrooms (on the right), washer/dryer room (on the left), and stairs to the basement (on the left).

This is the back bedroom (that we use as a closet, but we'll get all of our stuff out of here. And, we can put the queen bed that's currently in the upstairs master closet in here for your children / guests if you'd like.

This is the front bedroom. Which we use as a playroom. But, unless you request otherwise, we'll pack up all the toys and leave this room for you to use as you wish.

This is the basement (or half of it), the basement also includes a full bath with a bath/shower. The basement door leads to a two car, attached, and heated garage (which I am sooo thankful for every single day and night ... most especially the ones between October and April).

The house is equipped with Sattelite Dish TV (hundreds of channels and DVR)

And, (proving that where there's a will,there's a way), it also boasts the arctic-impossible: high-speed wireless internet without any data caps.

It's about 5 minutes away from the University (our UAF employee neighbor rides his bike to work everyday - well, everyday in the summer).

And it's 20 minutes to Fort Wain Wright (where, it's always colder than it is at our house!).

Storage Shed behind the house. We're offering our house furnished (and we'll put our personal items like clothes, toys, books, etc in our storage shed), or without a basement (and we'll store our furniture in the basement). Visiting Moose have offered storage area security.

So... the lights are on ... anyone home? If you're looking for a cozy, beautiful, warm winter retreat ...

welcome home.

If interested please email me at KatieC121 @ gmail . com  (no spaces, I just put those in there bc I think it will prevent spam?), and we can discuss a reduced rental rate due to the short-term agreement being aug 1, 2011 – march, 2012.

Thank you,

Katie

** To my regular far, far, away readers …  I guess this is my blog’s first advertisement!  Sorry it’s irrelevant to the normal arctic / life antidotes but emailing photos wasn’t working due to file sizes being too big, and photo sites were blocked at people’s offices … thanks readers.  I heart you. Especially if you’re interested in a little winter adventure and trying your hand at arctic life?!!!  Isn’t an arctic winter something you’ve always wanted to try?!

6 responses to “Goldie Logs FOR RENT August 2011 – March 2012

  1. The house is beautiful, and we are really interested. We (my husband and I) are PCS’ing and will arrive in July. We would be interested in renting it furnished, and then we can keep all of our house hold goods in storage until we find a perm place (we’re looking to buy) to move to in March. That way we don’t have to unpack / pack all of our stuff twice. I emailed you as well. Looking forward to hearing from you. Thanks Katie. – Amy

    • Hi Amy, thank you, I got your email. I’ll email you back and we can set up a showing. We have a few other people also interested, so, we’re just going to do a first come, first serve kind of thing. I appreciate your interest, and I know who ever ends up here will really love the house.

  2. mijotwinlove

    I love the pics Katie & it’s a beautiful home! Sad but glad you get to leave! I see that Amy is interested, but I’m still going to post this on my site to see if anyone may be interested 🙂

    • thanks Jo! I appreciate it. I’m actually facing the music and starting to pack … such a pain in the a … I appreciate your help!

  3. Looove the house! Beautiful! I’m in Eastern Canada, and am familiar with the cold winters, having to live thru them as well.
    There are 2 items in your pics that I’d like to know about; the white wire(?) deer head and your daughters quilt. I love quilts and have them all thru my home as well. The more the merrier, I like to think.

    • The wire deer head is from urban outfitters, I think. And the quilt is Anthropologie. I agree, quilts make a home SO much warmer … and we need that up here, don’t we!