A Read for Arm Chair (Or Real) Travelers …

When we first arrived in Alaska by ferry all those days ago; our ferry docked in Haines. It was sort of exactly what I pictured when I pictured “Alaska.”

With bald eagles flying over the bay; hanging flower baskets exploding over the streets; patagonia clad people living in colorful clapboard houses with wild iris gardens mowing over and through their picket fences … We ate ice cream from a coffee hut while sitting in lounge chairs and looking over the bay.

It’s a post card town where I imagined my post card life in Alaska.

Turns out Fairbanks is a little different than Haines.

When ever I visit or pass though one of these tiny little towns, I wonder, “What would my life be like here?” Do you do that?  Well, thanks to a sweet little recent read, now I have an idea of exactly what life is like in Haines.

It’s a great book if you’re gearing up for a trip to Alaska and a great book if you’re not.   It’s a great book if you didn’t end up living in Haines and sort of wondered about it.

It’s written by a local Haines woman, a mom, a newspaper obituary writer – and it’s about a few of her adventures and experiences living in this little town.  It’s well done, and it was a delightful “trip” for my imagination.

As the author writes, “A good novel is like going on a vacation without ever having to pass through airport security.”

Just thought I’d share in case you’re looking for a fun summer read!

And now, I’m looking for a good book!  Have you read anything good lately?

A-Krella

14 responses to “A Read for Arm Chair (Or Real) Travelers …

  1. I loved, loved, loved Haines. Honestly, I wanted to move back to Alaska and set up shop in this little town. If it weren’t for it being miles away from ANYTHING we would consider it. While I was in the Haines bookstore, I met the lady who wrote this although I wasn’t sure until after she left. I never bought the book, but maybe I will now!

  2. BrookeyPoo

    You may have to send me that book so I can get ready for August!!!!! Buying the tickets this WEEKEND!!! Boom!

  3. mama clarke

    I recently read and enjoyed this book! Once we were brothers, by ronald balson is a good read, although sad. Wild by Cheryl Strayed and a very short book or a short story Swim by Jennifer Weiner

  4. You should get on Goodreads! I love it – I read so much more now that I can keep track of what is on my “to read” list and get recommendations from my friends. Some favorites lately: Someone Knows My Name by Lawrence Hill; In My Hands: Memories of a Holocaust Rescuer by Irene Opdyke; Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese; The Kennedy Detail: JFK’s Secret Service Agents Break Their Silence by Gerald Blaine; The Guernsey LIterary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer; State of Wonder by Ann Patchett; Lucia, Lucia by Adriana Trigiani; Skeletons at the Feast by Chris Bohjalian. And I just started The Kitchen House by Kathleen Grissom and it is an amazing read so far.

    That turned into a long list…oops. Hope all is well – keep the updates coming!

    • Nice! Goodreads, here I come. I’m on it but haven’t figured it out … now I’m gonna do it. I’ve heard great things about Cutting for Stone, and now I have a list! Gracias!

  5. Thanks for the suggestion. I have enjoyed your book recommendations so far, so I reserved it at the library. Your book recommendations have been right on for me so far,
    so I look forward to reading it.

  6. road2clova

    My reading has increased exponentially since I got an iPad. I just finished “Little Bee” which was good, but sad and disturbing. I just started “Half Broke Horses” by Jeanette Walls which I think I’ll like as I enjoyed her book “Glass Castles”. I”m putting everyone’s suggestions on m TO READ list on my iPad. Thanks.

    • I agree, an IPAD makes reading much more accessible! I liked little bee and glass castles gave me lots to think about – half broken horses is on my list! thank you!

  7. Katie girl – I live my live in Alaska vicariously through you…..and it makes me want to pack up and move there today!!!